特色背景图片

阿加莎·帕特森(Agatha Patterson)

 

 

阿加莎·帕特森(Agatha Patterson),第2类
高中:圣保罗学校
本科:波莫纳学院
研究生(MBA):弗吉尼亚大学达顿商学院
职业:微软企业客户经理
TEAK下一代董事会成员

 

2月校友Agatha Patterson在2019月的大学毕业庆典上对XNUMX年大学毕业生进行了演讲。 她分享了旅途的坎and和她的TEAK家庭的重要性。

 

大家晚上好。 首先,祝贺大家大学毕业并正式加入TEAK校友会。 这是一个巨大的里程碑,我可以保证最好的还没有到来。 对于那些不认识我的人,我的名字叫Agatha Patterson,我是TEAK第二堂课Angels的成员。 几周前,凡妮莎(Vanessa)问我是否要对所有人说几句话,为什么我仍然还给TEAK,这对我来说实在是不费吹灰之力。

 

当我说TEAK改变了我的生活时,我并不夸张-当我在RFK读7年级时,我很幸运地被推荐给该计划并最终被录取。 在TEAK之前,我所能做的最高工作仅限于我作为加纳移民在纽约东部的一个低收入社区生活和上学所经历的工作。 不要误会我的意思,我有个大梦想,但我不知道我的梦想会更大。 TEAK向我展示了更多。

 

由于TEAK的缘故,我得以在加纳以外的地方有了自己的第一次国际经验,并通过“国际生活实验”在巴西做了五个星期的志愿服务。在世界著名的博物馆中,我得以参加百老汇的演出,并与来自各个行业的领导者建立了联系,并不断地交流。 TEAK支持我进入圣保罗大学并在圣保罗大学取得成功,并在整个大学申请过程中为我提供了极大帮助,使我能够进入自己的顶尖学校之一-波莫纳学院-再一次取得好成绩。

 

去年,我毕业于弗吉尼亚大学达顿商学院的MBA。 尽管在我决定攻读MBA时我还是一个经验丰富的TEAK校友,但TEAK员工在申请过程中全力支持我,审查了我的论文,撰写了建议,并帮助我商定了更好的奖学金计划。 我现在在Microsoft工作,为企业客户提供支持,以构想和建立可以支持其业务目标的技术路线图。我知道,如果没有这些年来TEAK家族所有成员的指导,我个人和专业都不会成为我。

 

现在,我停下来进行一下现实检查。 当我把这个故事放在一起时,我觉得自己听起来很棒。 我去过美国最好的学校,现在在世界顶级科技公司之一工作。 但是,当我告诉您到达这里的旅程并不顺利时,请相信我。 我于2009年金融危机最严重的时候从大学毕业,找不到工作。 我必须通过Americorps VISTA计划任职,该计划每年给我支付12,000美元。 在那一年的职位之后不久,我又被另一份工作解雇,因为他们再也负担不起我的薪水。

 

在那一刻,我感到自己完全失败了,尤其是当我将自己与似乎拥有一切的同龄人进行比较时。 在那一刻,TEAK也就在那儿,帮助我思考我的选择,向我保证这些挑战是暂时的,并帮助我在通往下一件大事的路上度过难关。 当您在大学生活中度过同样的时光时,我鼓励您不要以为自己过得如何。 那些时刻使您面对更大的挑战,并为重大机遇做好了准备。 我也鼓励您记住您是TEAK令人难以置信的社区的一部分。 只要有能力,就回馈这个社区,并知道当您应对生活中的挑战时,社区将为您服务。 谢谢。

Featured Background Image

Agatha Patterson

 

 

Agatha Patterson, Class 2
High School: St. Paul’s School
Undergraduate: Pomona College
Graduate (MBA): University of Virginia Darden School of Business
Occupation: Enterprise Account Executive, Microsoft)
TEAK Next Generation Board Member

 

Agatha Patterson, Class 2 alumna, spoke to our Class of 2019 College graduates in June at our College Graduation Celebration. She shared the ups and downs of her journey and the importance of her TEAK family.

 

Good evening, everyone. First of all, congratulations to all of you for graduating from college and officially joining the TEAK alumni network. That is a huge milestone and I can guarantee that the best is yet to come. For those of you don’t know me, my name is Agatha Patterson and I am a member of TEAK’s second class, the Angels. A few weeks ago, Vanessa asked if I would say a few words to you all about why I still give back to TEAK and it was honestly a no brainer for me.

 

I don’t exaggerate when I say that TEAK changed my life – when I was in 7th grade at RFK, I was lucky enough to be recommended for the program and eventually admitted. Before TEAK, the ceiling for what was possible for me was limited to what I was exposed to as a Ghanaian immigrant living and going to school in a low-income community in East New York. Don’t get me wrong, I had big dreams but I didn’t know that my dreams could be even bigger. TEAK showed me that there was more.

 

Because of TEAK, I was able to have my first international experience (outside of Ghana) living and volunteering in Brazil for five weeks through the Experiment in International Living, I got my first real job at the Museum of Natural History, one of the most prestigious museums in the world, I was able to attend Broadway shows, network with leaders from a range of industries, and on and on. TEAK supported me to get into and succeed at St. Paul’s, and helped me tremendously through the college application process so that I would get into one of my top schools – Pomona College – and again, do well.

 

Last year, I graduated with an MBA from the University of Virginia’s Darden School of Business. Though I was a seasoned TEAK alum by the time I decided to pursue an MBA, TEAK staff supported me wholeheartedly through that application process, reviewing my essays, writing recommendations, and helping me to negotiate a better scholarship offer. I now work at Microsoft supporting enterprise clients to envision and build a technology roadmap that can support their business objectives and I know I wouldn’t be where I am personally and professionally without the guidance from all the members of the TEAK family throughout the years.

 

Now, I pause to give a bit of a reality check. As I put together this story, it occurred to me that I sound pretty awesome. I’ve gone to some of the best schools in the country and now work at one of the top tech companies in the world. But believe me when I tell you the journey to get here was not as smooth. I graduated from college in 2009 at the height of the financial crisis and couldn’t find a job. I had to take a position through the Americorps VISTA program that paid me $12,000 a year. Soon after that year long position, I got another job that laid me off because they could no longer afford to pay me.

 

In those moments, I felt like an utter failure especially as I compared myself to peers who seemed to have it all together. TEAK was right there in those moments too, helping me think through my options, reassuring me these challenges were temporary and helping me navigate these bumps on the road to my next big thing. When you have those same moments as you navigate life post college, I encourage you to not think how I did. Those moments steal you against even bigger challenges and prepare you to be ready for major opportunities. I also encourage you to remember that you are part of an incredible community in TEAK. Give back to this community whenever you’re able, and know that it will be there for you as you navigate life’s challenges. Thank you.