صورة خلفية مميزة

معلومات عن الشركة

تحويل الأرواح. رفع المجتمعات.

رسالتنا

تعتقد زمالة TEAK أن الدافع والظروف المحتملة ، وليس الاقتصادية ، يجب أن تحدد مستقبل الطالب. يفتح TEAK الوصول إلى التعليم المتميز والخبرات التحويلية لطلاب مدينة نيويورك الاستثنائيين ، الذين يستخدمون هذه الفرص لتغيير حياتهم والعالم من حولهم.

TEAK هو برنامج مجاني يساعد الطلاب الموهوبين من الأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض على تحقيق إمكاناتهم. من خلال دورات مكثفة بعد المدرسة والصفوف ، يعد TEAK طلاب المدارس الإعدادية للدخول إلى المدارس الثانوية والكليات الأكثر انتقائية في البلاد. يضمن نظام الدعم القوي الذي توفره TEAK ازدهار الطلاب في مدارسهم الثانوية المستقلة (النهارية والصعود) وتخرجهم من الكلية ، وهم على استعداد لمتابعة أهدافهم المهنية والتأثير الإيجابي على العالم.

تاريخنا

في 1998، جوستين ستامين أرييلاجا مؤسس زمالة TEAK في ذكرى ديويت وايت (1981-1997) و Teak Dyer (1970 - 1988) ، شخصان مقربان منها تم قطع حياتهم بشكل مأساوي. أرادت تزويد الشباب الآخرين بفرصة لمستقبل أكثر إشراقًا ، فقد أنشأت برنامجًا لمساعدة الطلاب الطموحين على استخدام التعليم للتغلب على المصاعب الاقتصادية وتحقيق إمكاناتهم.

بدءًا من الفصل الرائد المكون من 22 طالبًا في الصف السابع ، وجهت جوستين TEAK وأدارت نموها لمدة ثماني سنوات. في عام 2005 ، خلفت لين د. سورنسن جوستين في منصب المدير التنفيذي لشركة TEAK ، وفي عام 2015 ، أصبح جون ف. جرين المدير التنفيذي الثالث لشركة TEAK. بدءًا من المجموعة الأولى ، تم قبول 100 في المائة من زملاء TEAK في المدارس الثانوية المستقلة والعامة والضيقة. كل زميل واحد قد سجل في كليات 4 سنوات. ومن بين هؤلاء ، دخل 89 في المائة مدارس من الدرجة الأولى ، بما في ذلك 26 في المائة في رابطة آيفي كل عام. 88٪ من الطلاب الذين أكملوا الزمالة هم من خريجي الجامعات وقادة في مهن متعددة.

أثناء مواصلة عملها الأساسي لإعداد الطلاب للتقدم إلى المدارس الثانوية والكليات والنجاح فيها ، وسعت TEAK برامجها على مدار تاريخها لتحقيق هذه الأهداف والبناء عليها بشكل أفضل. في عام 2008 ، احتفلت TEAK بفئتها الأولى من خريجي الكلية وأسست برنامج الخريجين لتزويد الخريجين بالأدوات والموارد اللازمة لنجاح الكلية والتقدم المهني. في عام 2012 ، قام TEAK بتحويل نقطة دخول البرنامج من الصف السابع إلى الصف السادس لزيادة إعداد الطلاب قبل دخول مدارسهم الثانوية الصارمة. اليوم ، لا تزال TEAK برنامجًا دائمًا ومبتكرًا ، تفتح الأبواب لفرص تعليمية ممتازة وتعد الطلاب للنجاح والقيادة في مدارسهم ومهنهم ومجتمعاتهم.
خشب الساج وديويت

Featured Background Image

About

Transforming Lives. Lifting Communities.

Our Mission

The TEAK Fellowship believes that motivation and potential, not economic circumstances, should determine a student’s future. TEAK unlocks access to outstanding education and transformative experiences for exceptional NYC students, who use these opportunities to change their lives and the world around them.

 

TEAK is a free program that helps talented students from low-income families achieve their potential. Through intensive after school and summer classes, TEAK prepares middle school students to get into the nation’s most selective high schools and colleges. TEAK’s strong support system ensures that students thrive in their independent (day and boarding) high schools and graduate from college, ready to pursue their professional goals and positively impact the world.

 

 

 

Our History

 

In 1998, Justine Stamen Arrillaga founded The TEAK Fellowship in memory of DeWitt White (1981 – 1997) and Teak Dyer (1970 – 1988), two people close to her whose lives were tragically cut short. Wanting to provide other young people with the opportunity for a brighter future, she created a program to help aspiring students use education to overcome economic hardships and achieve their potential.

 

Starting with a pioneer class of 22 seventh grade students, Justine directed TEAK and managed its growth for eight years. In 2005, Lynn D. Sorensen succeeded Justine as TEAK’s Executive Director, and in 2015, John F. Green became TEAK’s third Executive Director. Starting with the first cohort, 100 percent of TEAK Fellows have been accepted into top independent, public, and parochial high schools. Every single Fellow has matriculated to 4-year colleges; of these, 89 percent have entered top tier schools, including an average 26 percent into the Ivy League each year. Of the students who have completed the Fellowship, 88 percent are college graduates and leaders in multiple professions.

 

While continuing its core work of preparing students to apply to and succeed at top high schools and colleges, TEAK has expanded its programming over the course of its history to better achieve and build upon these goals. In 2008, TEAK celebrated its first class of college graduates and established an Alumni Program to equip alumni with the tools and resources necessary for college success and professional advancement. In 2012, TEAK shifted the program’s entry point from 7th grade to 6th grade to increase student preparation prior to entering their rigorous high schools. Today, TEAK remains an enduring yet innovative program, opening doors to excellent educational opportunities and preparing students to succeed and lead in their schools, professions, and communities.
Teak and DeWitt