特色背景图片

关于我们

改变生活。 提升社区。

我们的使命

柚木奖学金认为,动力和潜力,而不是经济条件,应该决定学生的未来。 TEAK为杰出的纽约学生释放了获得卓越教育和变革经验的机会,他们利用这些机会改变了他们的生活和周围的世界。

 

TEAK是一项免费计划,可帮助来自低收入家庭的才华横溢的学生发挥潜能。 通过密集的放学后和暑期班,TEAK为中学生做好准备,使其进入全美最挑剔的高中和大学。 TEAK的强大支持系统可确保学生在独立的(中学和寄宿制)中学中high壮成长,并从大学毕业,随时准备追求自己的职业目标并对世界产生积极影响。

 

 

 

历史

 

1998年, 贾斯汀·斯塔曼·阿里拉加(Justine Stamen Arrillaga) 创立 柚木奖学金 在记忆 德威特·怀特 (1981 – 1997)和Teak Dyer(1970 – 1988),两个接近她的人,他们的生活惨遭缩短。 为了给其他年轻人提供更光明的未来的机会,她创建了一个计划,以帮助有抱负的学生利用教育来克服经济困难并发挥他们的潜力。

 

Justine从22位七年级学生的先驱班开始,指导TEAK,并成功管理了八年。 2005年,林恩·索伦森(Lynn D. Sorensen)接替贾斯汀(Justine)担任TEAK的执行董事; 2015年,约翰·格林(John F. Green)成为TEAK的第三任执行董事。 从第一个队列开始,TEAK研究员的100%已被顶级私立,公立和狭par的中学接受。 每个研究员都已入读4年制大学; 其中,有89%的人进入了顶级学校,其中每年平均有26%的人进入常春藤联盟。 在完成研究金的学生中,有88%是大学毕业生和多种专业的领导者。

 

在继续其为学生准备申请顶尖高中和大学并取得成功的核心工作的同时,TEAK在其历史过程中扩展了其计划,以更好地实现和建立这些目标。 在2008年,TEAK庆祝了第一届大学毕业生,并建立了一个校友计划,为校友配备大学成功和专业发展所需的工具和资源。 在2012年,TEAK将该计划的入学点从7年级更改为6年级,以增加进入严格的中学之前的学生准备。 如今,TEAK仍是一项持久而又创新的计划,为获得优质教育机会敞开了大门,并为学生提供成功的机会,并使其在学校,专业和社区中取得领导地位。
柚木和德威特

Featured Background Image

About

Transforming Lives. Lifting Communities.

Our Mission

The TEAK Fellowship believes that motivation and potential, not economic circumstances, should determine a student’s future. TEAK unlocks access to outstanding education and transformative experiences for exceptional NYC students, who use these opportunities to change their lives and the world around them.

 

TEAK is a free program that helps talented students from low-income families achieve their potential. Through intensive after school and summer classes, TEAK prepares middle school students to get into the nation’s most selective high schools and colleges. TEAK’s strong support system ensures that students thrive in their independent (day and boarding) high schools and graduate from college, ready to pursue their professional goals and positively impact the world.

 

 

 

Our History

 

In 1998, Justine Stamen Arrillaga founded The TEAK Fellowship in memory of DeWitt White (1981 – 1997) and Teak Dyer (1970 – 1988), two people close to her whose lives were tragically cut short. Wanting to provide other young people with the opportunity for a brighter future, she created a program to help aspiring students use education to overcome economic hardships and achieve their potential.

 

Starting with a pioneer class of 22 seventh grade students, Justine directed TEAK and managed its growth for eight years. In 2005, Lynn D. Sorensen succeeded Justine as TEAK’s Executive Director, and in 2015, John F. Green became TEAK’s third Executive Director. Starting with the first cohort, 100 percent of TEAK Fellows have been accepted into top independent, public, and parochial high schools. Every single Fellow has matriculated to 4-year colleges; of these, 89 percent have entered top tier schools, including an average 26 percent into the Ivy League each year. Of the students who have completed the Fellowship, 88 percent are college graduates and leaders in multiple professions.

 

While continuing its core work of preparing students to apply to and succeed at top high schools and colleges, TEAK has expanded its programming over the course of its history to better achieve and build upon these goals. In 2008, TEAK celebrated its first class of college graduates and established an Alumni Program to equip alumni with the tools and resources necessary for college success and professional advancement. In 2012, TEAK shifted the program’s entry point from 7th grade to 6th grade to increase student preparation prior to entering their rigorous high schools. Today, TEAK remains an enduring yet innovative program, opening doors to excellent educational opportunities and preparing students to succeed and lead in their schools, professions, and communities.
Teak and DeWitt