صورة خلفية مميزة

تحديث لمجتمع TEAK - 6/1/20

 

 

 

صديق عزيز، 

 

بينما كتبت إليكم حول التأثير العميق لـ COVID-19 على TEAK ، وبشكل أكثر تحديدًا ، التأثير غير المتناسب لـ COVID-19 على الصحة الجسدية / العاطفية للأشخاص الملونين والخسائر الاقتصادية التي تكبدها أولئك الذين يعيشون تحت مجتمعات محلية ، أجد نفسي مضطرا للكتابة مرة أخرى.

 

بالنيابة عن TEAK Fellowship ، أكتب هذه المرة للتعبير عن قلقي بشكل خاص على زملائنا ، حيث يحاولون النجاة من الحقيقة المؤلمة المتمثلة في مقتل جورج فلويد في وقت سابق من هذا الأسبوع (وأحمد أربيري وبريونا تايلور في وقت سابق من هذا الربيع) فعل عنف لا معنى له من النوع الذي كثيرًا ما يلحق بأصدقائنا في المجتمع الأسود ولسنوات عديدة مثل العديد من المتظاهرين في شوارعنا ، يشعر موظفو TEAK بالغضب لأن أصدقائنا كثيرًا ما يخشون على حياتهم في مواجهة الشرطة وغيرها من أشكال الوحشية. هذا - النمط القديم في أمريكا الآن - يجب أن يتوقف.

 

أولئك الذين قتلوا جورج فلويد لم يقدروا حياته وبالتالي حرموه من إنسانيته. إن مظاهرة اللاإنسانية هذه ليس لها مكان في أمريكا ، وبالطبع لا مكان لها في TEAK.

 

يتم تذكير موظفي TEAK أيضًا بعدد المشاغبين بدوافع عنصرية التي لا يزال مجتمعنا الأسود يتحملها وأنواع أخرى من المشاكس اليومية التي يعاني منها جميع طلابنا وعائلاتنا في مدارسنا ، وفي حرمنا الجامعي ، وفي مجتمعاتنا بسبب العرق والعرق ، العقيدة ، وغيرها من الخصائص التي تشكل هوياتنا. يجب أن يحق لنا جميعًا أن نبرز هوياتنا ونحتفل بها دون خوف. يجب أن نحترم بعضنا البعض ، ونتعلم المزيد عن بعضنا البعض ، ونحب بعضنا البعض. هذا ما سيربطنا في نهاية المطاف.

 

نحن جميعًا في TEAK ملتزمون بالوقوف والتحدث للمساعدة في جعل مجتمعاتنا آمنة وأكثر شمولًا ونقدر كل ما يجلبه طلابنا إلى مدارسهم وحرمهم الجامعي ومجتمعاتهم. نحن ملتزمون بالقيام بالعمل المطلوب لتكون منظمة مناهضة للعنصرية.

 

بينما كنت محبطًا اليوم ، أنا لست منكسر. إنني في الواقع مشجع بالنشاط والاحتجاجات السلمية التي يقودها ويمارسها الشباب وأنا متأكد أكثر من أي وقت مضى من أهمية زمالتنا في المضي قدمًا. يثبت زملاؤنا في TEAK كل يوم أنه من الممكن - والأفضل بالفعل - العيش في بلد متعدد الأعراق متعدد الثقافات ولكن في سلام ووئام. سيكون زملاء TEAK قوة فعالة للتغيير الإيجابي الذي طال انتظاره في بلد في حاجة ماسة إلى قيادتهم المحترمة والمنفتحة.

 

نحن نقدر مجتمعنا المتنوع وسنعترف دائمًا بإنسانيتك.

 

 

مع خالص الشكر والتقدير،


جون غرين
المدير التنفيذي

Featured Background Image

An Update for our TEAK Community – 6/1/20

 

 

 

Dear Friend, 

 

While I have written to you about the profound impact of COVID-19 on TEAK and, more specifically, the disproportionate impact COVID-19 is having on the physical/emotional health of people of color and the economic losses sustained by those who live in under-resourced communities, I find myself compelled to write yet again.

 

On behalf of the TEAK Fellowship, I write this time to express my concern particularly for our Fellows, as they try to survive the painful fact that George Floyd was killed earlier this week (and Ahmaud Arbery and Breonna Taylor earlier this spring) by yet another act of senseless violence of the type too often inflicted on our friends in the Black community and for too many years. Like many of the protestors on our streets, TEAK staff are outraged that our friends often must fear for their lives in the face of police and other forms of brutality. This – now centuries-old pattern in America – must stop.

 

Those who killed George Floyd did not value his life and thus denied him his humanity. This demonstration of inhumanity has no place in America and, of course, no place at TEAK.

 

TEAK staff are also reminded of the number of racially motivated slights that our Black community continues to endure and other types of everyday slights all of our students and families endure in our schools, on our campuses, and in our communities due to race, ethnicity, creed, and other characteristics that form our identities. We should all be entitled to project and celebrate our identities without trepidation. We must respect one another, learn more about each other, and love each other. That is what will ultimately bind us.

 

All of us at TEAK are committed to standing up and speaking out to help make our respective communities safe and more inclusive and are appreciative of all that our students bring to their schools, campuses, and communities. We are committed to doing the work needed to be an anti-racist organization.

 

While discouraged today, I am not broken. I am actually encouraged by the activism and peaceful protests led and exercised by young people and am more certain than ever of the importance of our Fellowship going forward. Our TEAK Fellows prove every day that it is possible – indeed preferable – to live in a multi-racial multi-cultural country but in both peace and harmony. TEAK Fellows will be a potent force for positive and long overdue change in a country badly in need of their respectful and open-minded leadership.

 

We value our diverse community and will always recognize your humanity.

 

 

Sincerely,


John Green
Executive Director