特色背景图片

导师计划

 

 

感谢您对TEAK导师计划的关注。 现在提供2020年信息发布会日期,您可以在下面注册。 如有疑问,请联系Vanessa Greer,网址为 [电子邮件保护] 或(212)288-6678 x120。

 

什么是TEAK导师计划?


导师计划为每个TEAK研究员提供了一个自愿的导师,他们是积极的榜样,倾听者,拥护者和朋友。 通常,TEAK研究员是移民的子女和/或他们的家庭中的第一代进入大学的孩子。 这些学生必须扩大他们的支持网络,并接触各种成年人,他们可以提供有关高中,大学和职业道路的观点。

 

导师计划何时开始和结束?


在七年级的秋季,学生将与导师进行配对,正式的“配对仪式”将于XNUMX月下旬或XNUMX月初举行。 TEAK希望建立长期和一致的关系,因此,要求Mentors在整个高中期间致力于与Fellows保持导师制。 成功的指导关系是双方共同负责的指导关系。

 

不幸的是,不能保证所有的申请者都会有一位研究员。 在申请的年份中不匹配的准指导者将在下一年的准指导者列表的顶部。

 

信息会议时间表(单击 选购 进行注册)


通过Ring Central的虚拟信息会议:

21月12日,星期二,下午XNUMX点

6月6日,星期三,下午XNUMX点

20月12日,星期三,下午XNUMX点

9月6日,星期二,下午XNUMX点
14月6日,星期二,下午XNUMX点

23月12日,星期四,下午XNUMX点

指导会的应用程序将在信息发布会后分发。

 

导师的期望是什么?


导师必须具有大学学位,以符合该组织为其学生提供的高等教育目标。 每位导师在一年中应该至少见见他/她的学生六次,并每月至少通过电子邮件或电话与他们的学生联系两次。 TEAK要求导师承担他们选择与学生一起参加的任何活动或游览的费用。 导师应获得所有活动的父母许可。

 

学生的期望是什么?


学生应保持开放并经常与导师保持联系。 还希望学生守时,礼貌并表现出尝试新事物的意愿,以尊重导师/受训者的关系。 学生不应期望或要求导师提供礼物。

 

家长或监护人的期望是什么?


父母必须参加导师和研究员之间的第一次会议(导师/同伴比赛日)。 当学生以未成年人身份进入恋爱关系时,除非父母同意比赛,否则恋爱关系就无法开始。 还必须告知父母并批准学生与导师一起进行的所有郊游。 如果对这种关系有任何担忧,则希望父母与TEAK员工和导师进行沟通。

 

有哪些常见的导师/研究员活动?


导师/同伴活动不一定是一项昂贵的活动。 导师可以利用他们的创造力,个人经验和与研究员的共同兴趣来帮助安排时间。 导师/研究员的活动可能包括:去博物馆,看戏剧,一起玩运动,看电影,在公园散步或一起吃饭。 一年中,TEAK还多次举行导师/研究员活动,为导师和研究员提供了一个与较大团体互动的场所。
TEAK全年组织各种Mentor / Mentee郊游和活动。 以前郊游的一些例子包括游戏之夜,参观博物馆,大苹果马戏团之旅和体育赛事。

Featured Background Image

Mentor Program

 

 

Thank you for your interest in TEAK’s Mentor Program. The next opportunity to become a Mentor is in the fall of 2018. At that time, prospective Mentors must attend an information session to be considered for the program. For questions or to request additional information, please contact Vanessa Greer at [email protected] or (212) 288-6678 x120.

 

What is the TEAK Mentor Program?


The Mentor Program provides each TEAK Fellow with a volunteer Mentor who serves as a positive role model, listener, advocate, and friend. Often, TEAK Fellows are the children of immigrants and/or the first generation in their families to be on a college track. It is imperative that these students widen their network of support and be exposed to various adults who can provide perspectives on high school, college, and career paths.

 

When does the Mentor Program begin and end?


Students are matched with a Mentor in the fall of their seventh grade year, with the official “Matching Ceremony” taking place in late October or early November. TEAK hopes to foster long-term and consistent relationships and, therefore, asks Mentors to commit to maintaining the mentorship with Fellows throughout high school. Successful mentoring relationships are ones in which both parties take responsibility for making it work.

 

Unfortunately, there is no guarantee that all applicants will be matched with a Fellow. Prospective Mentors who are not matched in the year in which they apply will be placed at the top of the Prospective Mentor list for the following year.

 

Information Session Schedule


Wednesday, June 27th from 6pm-7pm
Tuesday, July 17th from 6pm-7pm
Thursday, September 6th from 6-7pm NEW SESSION ADDED

 

All information sessions will be held at The TEAK Fellowship located at:
16 West 22nd St, 3rd FL (between 5th and 6th Ave.)
New York, NY 10010

 

Mentor applications will be distributed at the information sessions.

 

What are the expectations of the Mentor?


Mentors must have a college degree, in alignment with the organization’s goal of higher education for its students. Each Mentor should see his/her student at least six times during the year and contact their student at least twice a month via email or phone. TEAK asks that Mentors incur the costs of any events or excursions that they choose to participate in with their student. Mentors should obtain permission from parents for all outings.

 

What are the expectations of the student?


Students are expected to be open and be in frequent communication with his/her Mentor. Students are also expected to respect the mentor/mentee relationship by being punctual, polite, and show a willingness to try new things. Students should not expect or ask for gifts from their Mentors.

 

What are the expectations of the Parent or Guardian?


Parents must attend the first meeting between Mentors and Fellows (the Mentor/Fellow Match Day). As the students are entering the relation as a minor, the relationship cannot begin unless the parent approves the match. Parents must also be informed of and approve all outings the student has with their mentor. Parents are expected to communicate with TEAK staff and the mentor if there are any concerns regarding the relationship.

 

What are some common Mentor/Fellow activities?


A Mentor/Fellow activity does not have to be an expensive event. Mentors can use their creativity, personal experiences, and shared interests with the Fellow to help plan for the time together. Mentor/Fellow activities could include: going to a museum, seeing a play, playing a sport together, seeing a movie, taking a walk in the park, or sharing a meal together. TEAK also holds Mentor/Fellow events several times during the year to provide a venue for Mentors and Fellows to interact in larger groups.
TEAK organizes various Mentor/Mentee outings and events throughout the year. Some examples of previous outings include game nights, museum visits, Big Apple Circus trips, and sporting events.