特色背景图片

金怀特

 

 

 

金怀特
万斯·怀特的母亲
柚木课16 | 康科德学院'19 | 布朗大学'23

 

12月16日,TEAK研究员,家人,员工和志愿者庆祝了高中XNUMX年级研究员的毕业。 TEAK的父母Kim White分享了她在TEAK旅途中的经验。

 

资深致辞

 

大家晚上好,谢谢你有我。 我是万斯·怀特(Vance White)的父母,在这里谈谈TEAK对我和我的家人有多重要。 TEAK为我和我儿子带来了很多机会; 他可以完成他想要的任何事情。 万斯第一次向我提出上寄宿制学校的想法时,我是反对的。 长大后,我听说寄宿学校是一个有钱的父母送自己行为不端的孩子的地方。 作为住在布鲁克林项目中的单身母亲,我不知道该如何实现这一目标,但我内心深知我无法阻挡他的祝福。 我将全力以赴以实现这一目标,而TEAK则为我提供了一切服务。

 

他进入高中后,我的担忧一直没有停止。 在头两年中,我从不习惯离开他。 我相信康科德学院(Concord Academy)将使我的宝宝尽可能地独立,但是一次要离开他三个月的想法令人难以下咽。 但是,就在我适应万斯在马萨诸塞州出差的想法时,他转身告诉我他想在国外学习年(SYA)在中国呆一年。 真是难以置信,但是可惜,我选择不阻止这种祝福。 我当然给了他我所有的要求和规则,我想让他在他那里时遵守。 其中一些措施包括避免流落街头食品,并每周至少打电话给我几次。 起初有点动摇,头几个月让我感到震惊,因为他根本不遵守这些规定。 我经常哭泣,但尽管如此,TEAK还是联系了我,并向我保证我得到了很多支持。 我非常感谢这个庞大的支持系统和家人。

 

万斯从中国回来时,我的任务是看到他使用他的普通话。 秋天,当我需要从学校接旺斯时,我们去了康科德的这家中国餐馆。 万斯愿意用普通话点餐。 当然,我说是,然后他在那儿:就在我面前说出来。 眼泪开始在我眼中流淌,因为餐厅的每个工人都过来听他的话。 他们为这个黑人孩子刚出现并用他们的母语与他们说话而感到震惊。 那是我儿子。 从那时起,我一直为他感到骄傲。

 

TEAK为我的孩子提供了TEAK夏季学院的实习机会,这使我有机会探索哥伦比亚大学的校园和教授,现在有机会在企业界生存。 尽管他对大部分的暑假都花在中学和高年级学习之前并不满意,但万斯(Vance)从未像现在这样负债累累。 凭借自己的才华和TEAK庞大的人脉,他得以就读一所名校,并于即将到来的秋天继续就读布朗大学。 我要亲自感谢Dan,Natalie,Nina和John Green的所有帮助。 我要感谢他的导师戴维一直以来的支持。 我还要感谢Sarah Demers和Rachel Josephs,无论他们身在何处,也要感谢他们。 当然,如果不是董事会的出色工作,这一切都是不可能的!

 

谢谢,祝您有个美好的夜晚! 恭喜您,第16级。

Featured Background Image

Kim White

 

 

 

Kim White
Mother of Vance White
TEAK Class 16 | Concord Academy ’19 | Brown University ’23

 

On June 12th, TEAK Fellows, families, staff, and volunteers celebrated Class 16 Fellows’ graduation from High School. Kim White, a TEAK parent, shared her experience on the TEAK journey.

 

Senior Send Off Speech

 

Good evening, everyone and thank you for having me. I am the parent of Vance White and here to talk about how much TEAK means to me and my family. TEAK has presented my son and I with lots of opportunities; that he can accomplish whatever he wants. When Vance first presented to me the idea of attending a boarding school, I was against it. Growing up, I heard that boarding school was a place where wealthy parents sent their misbehaved children. As a single mother living in Brooklyn projects, I didn’t know how I was going to make that happen, but I knew in my heart that I couldn’t block his blessings. I was going to sacrifice any and everything I could to make it that happen, and TEAK was there for me every step of the way.

 

My worries didn’t stop once he entered high school. For the first two years, I never got used to being away from him. I trusted that Concord Academy was going to make my baby as independent as he could possibly be, but the thought of being away from him three months at a time was a hard pill to swallow. However, just as I was getting used to the idea of Vance being away in Massachusetts, he turns around and tells me he wants to spend a year in China with School Year Abroad (SYA). It was unbelievable, but alas, I chose to not block that blessing. I certainly gave him an ear-full of my requests and rules I wanted him to stick by while he was there. Some of these included avoiding street food and calling me at least a few times a week. It was a little shaky at first and I was in shock for the first couple of months as he didn’t follow those rules at all. I cried very often, but nonetheless, TEAK reached out to me and reassured me that I have lots of support. I am so grateful for this huge support system and family.

 

When Vance came back from China, I made it a mission to see him use his Mandarin in action. In the fall when I needed to go pick up Vance from school, we went to this Chinese restaurant in Concord. Vance offered to order our food in Mandarin. Of course, I said yes, and then there he was: right in front of me speaking it. Tears were starting to flow in my eyes because every worker at the restaurant came over to hear him. They were dumbfounded that this Black kid just appeared and spoke to them in their native tongue. That was my son. I’ve been incredibly proud of him ever since.

 

TEAK blessed my baby with an internship at the TEAK Summer Institute, the chance to explore Columbia University’s campus and professors, and now the chance to survive the corporate world. Although he wasn’t very happy about spending most of his summers in middle school and before senior year studying, Vance has never felt more indebted to TEAK than ever. With his own merit and TEAK massive network, he was able to attend a prestigious school and go on to attend Brown University this upcoming fall. I want to personally thank Dan, Natalie, Nina, and John Green for all of their help. I want to thank David, his mentor, for always having his back. And I want to thank Sarah Demers and Rachel Josephs, wherever they are for being a part of this journey as well. Of course, none of this would be possible if it wasn’t for the Board’s amazing work!

 

Thank you and have a wonderful evening! Congratulations to you, Class 16.