صورة خلفية مميزة

كيم وايت

 

 

 

كيم وايت
أم فانس وايت
TEAK كلاس 16 | أكاديمية كونكورد 19 | جامعة براون 23

 

في 12 يونيو ، احتفل زملاء TEAK والعائلات والموظفون والمتطوعون بتخرج زملاء الفصل 16 من المدرسة الثانوية. شاركت كيم وايت ، والدة TEAK ، تجربتها في رحلة TEAK.

 

إرسال خطاب إيقاف كبار

 

مساء الخير على الجميع وشكرا لاستضافتي. أنا والدة فانس وايت وهنا لأتحدث عن مقدار TEAK بالنسبة لي ولعائلتي. قدم TEAK لابني الكثير من الفرص ؛ أنه يستطيع تحقيق ما يريد. عندما قدمت لي فانس لأول مرة فكرة الالتحاق بمدرسة داخلية ، كنت ضد ذلك. عندما كبرت ، سمعت أن المدرسة الداخلية كانت مكانًا يرسل فيه الآباء الأثرياء أطفالهم السيئين السلوك. كأم عزباء تعيش في مشاريع بروكلين ، لم أكن أعرف كيف سأحقق ذلك ، لكنني عرفت في قلبي أنني لا أستطيع أن أحجب بركاته. كنت سأضحي بأي شيء وكل ما بوسعي لتحقيق ذلك ، وكان TEAK موجودًا بالنسبة لي في كل خطوة على الطريق.

 

لم تتوقف قلقي بمجرد دخوله المدرسة الثانوية. خلال العامين الأولين ، لم أعتد على الابتعاد عنه. كنت واثقًا من أن أكاديمية كونكورد ستجعل طفلي مستقلاً قدر الإمكان ، لكن فكرة الابتعاد عنه لمدة ثلاثة أشهر في كل مرة كان من الصعب ابتلاعها. ومع ذلك ، كما اعتدت على فكرة أن تكون فانس بعيدة في ماساتشوستس ، يستدير ويقول لي إنه يريد قضاء عام في الصين مع السنة الدراسية في الخارج (SYA). لقد كان أمرًا لا يصدق ، لكن للأسف ، اخترت عدم حجب هذه البركة. من المؤكد أنني أعطيته أذنيًا مليئة بطلباتي وقواعدي التي أردت أن يلتزم بها أثناء وجوده هناك. وشملت بعض هذه تجنب طعام الشارع والاتصال بي عدة مرات على الأقل في الأسبوع. لقد كان هشًا قليلاً في البداية وكنت في حالة صدمة في الشهرين الأولين لأنه لم يتبع هذه القواعد على الإطلاق. بكيت في كثير من الأحيان ، ولكن مع ذلك ، تواصل TEAK معي وطمأنني بأن لدي الكثير من الدعم. أنا ممتن للغاية لنظام الدعم الضخم هذا والأسرة.

 

عندما عاد فانس من الصين ، قمت بمهمة رؤيته يستخدم لغة الماندرين في العمل. في الخريف عندما كنت بحاجة للذهاب لاستلام فانس من المدرسة ، ذهبنا إلى هذا المطعم الصيني في كونكورد. عرضت فانس طلب طعامنا باللغة الماندرين. بالطبع ، قلت نعم ، ثم كان هناك: أمامي أتحدثها. بدأت الدموع تتدفق في عيني لأن كل عامل في المطعم جاء لسماعه. لقد دهشوا لأن هذا الطفل الأسود ظهر للتو وتحدث إليهم بلغتهم الأصلية. كان هذا ابني. أنا فخور به بشكل لا يصدق منذ ذلك الحين.

 

بارك TEAK طفلي بفترة تدريب في معهد TEAK الصيفي ، وفرصة استكشاف حرم جامعة كولومبيا وأساتذتها ، والآن فرصة للبقاء على قيد الحياة في عالم الشركات. على الرغم من أنه لم يكن سعيدًا جدًا لقضاء معظم فصل الصيف في المدرسة الإعدادية وقبل العام الدراسي الأول ، إلا أن فانس لم يشعر أبدًا بكونه مدينًا أكثر من أي وقت مضى. بفضل شبكته الخاصة وشبكة TEAK الضخمة ، تمكن من حضور مدرسة مرموقة والانتقال إلى جامعة براون في الخريف القادم. أود شخصياً أن أشكر دان وناتالي ونينا وجون جرين على كل مساعدتهم. أود أن أشكر ديفيد ، معلمه ، على دعمه دائمًا. وأود أن أشكر سارة ديمرز وراشيل جوزيف ، أينما كانوا لكونهم جزءًا من هذه الرحلة أيضًا. بالطبع ، لن يكون أيًا من هذا ممكنًا لولا عمل المجلس المدهش!

 

شكرا لك وأتمنى لك أمسية رائعة! مبروك لكم ، الفصل 16.

Featured Background Image

Kim White

 

 

 

Kim White
Mother of Vance White
TEAK Class 16 | Concord Academy ’19 | Brown University ’23

 

On June 12th, TEAK Fellows, families, staff, and volunteers celebrated Class 16 Fellows’ graduation from High School. Kim White, a TEAK parent, shared her experience on the TEAK journey.

 

Senior Send Off Speech

 

Good evening, everyone and thank you for having me. I am the parent of Vance White and here to talk about how much TEAK means to me and my family. TEAK has presented my son and I with lots of opportunities; that he can accomplish whatever he wants. When Vance first presented to me the idea of attending a boarding school, I was against it. Growing up, I heard that boarding school was a place where wealthy parents sent their misbehaved children. As a single mother living in Brooklyn projects, I didn’t know how I was going to make that happen, but I knew in my heart that I couldn’t block his blessings. I was going to sacrifice any and everything I could to make it that happen, and TEAK was there for me every step of the way.

 

My worries didn’t stop once he entered high school. For the first two years, I never got used to being away from him. I trusted that Concord Academy was going to make my baby as independent as he could possibly be, but the thought of being away from him three months at a time was a hard pill to swallow. However, just as I was getting used to the idea of Vance being away in Massachusetts, he turns around and tells me he wants to spend a year in China with School Year Abroad (SYA). It was unbelievable, but alas, I chose to not block that blessing. I certainly gave him an ear-full of my requests and rules I wanted him to stick by while he was there. Some of these included avoiding street food and calling me at least a few times a week. It was a little shaky at first and I was in shock for the first couple of months as he didn’t follow those rules at all. I cried very often, but nonetheless, TEAK reached out to me and reassured me that I have lots of support. I am so grateful for this huge support system and family.

 

When Vance came back from China, I made it a mission to see him use his Mandarin in action. In the fall when I needed to go pick up Vance from school, we went to this Chinese restaurant in Concord. Vance offered to order our food in Mandarin. Of course, I said yes, and then there he was: right in front of me speaking it. Tears were starting to flow in my eyes because every worker at the restaurant came over to hear him. They were dumbfounded that this Black kid just appeared and spoke to them in their native tongue. That was my son. I’ve been incredibly proud of him ever since.

 

TEAK blessed my baby with an internship at the TEAK Summer Institute, the chance to explore Columbia University’s campus and professors, and now the chance to survive the corporate world. Although he wasn’t very happy about spending most of his summers in middle school and before senior year studying, Vance has never felt more indebted to TEAK than ever. With his own merit and TEAK massive network, he was able to attend a prestigious school and go on to attend Brown University this upcoming fall. I want to personally thank Dan, Natalie, Nina, and John Green for all of their help. I want to thank David, his mentor, for always having his back. And I want to thank Sarah Demers and Rachel Josephs, wherever they are for being a part of this journey as well. Of course, none of this would be possible if it wasn’t for the Board’s amazing work!

 

Thank you and have a wonderful evening! Congratulations to you, Class 16.