صورة خلفية مميزة

التقرير السنوي 2018

نظرة خاطفة. التركيز إلى الأمام.

مهمة خشب الساج


تعتقد زمالة TEAK أن الدافع والظروف المحتملة ، وليس الاقتصادية ، يجب أن تحدد مستقبل الطالب. يفتح TEAK الوصول إلى التعليم المتميز والخبرات التحويلية لطلاب مدينة نيويورك الاستثنائيين ، الذين يستخدمون هذه الفرص لتغيير حياتهم والعالم من حولهم.

 

في 2018 ،
خدم تيك

189

زملاء المدرسة الإعدادية والثانوية

+

111

علماء الكلية والخريجين الجدد

=

300

مندفع بشدة
الطلاب

 
 

1 من 4 يعيش سكان نيويورك عند أو تحت خط الفقر.
زملاء TEAK هم من بينهم.

نظرة خاطفة

نظرة خاطفة على أيقونة

في 1 فبراير 1998 ، فتحت TEAK أبوابها لطلاب مدينة نيويورك المتحمسين والاستثنائيين

 

خدم الطلاب

على مدى 550 خدم الطلاب

القيادة

أكثر من 700 تدريب للمدرسة الثانوية والكلية

متطوع

على مدى 40,000 ساعات خدمة المجتمع

القيادة

على مدى 12,000 ساعات التدريس الأكاديمي

Fireworks,en

93% من زملاء TEAK دخلوا كليات تنافسية للغاية ، بما في ذلك 30% في رابطة اللبلاب.

التركيز إلى الأمام

التركيز على أيقونة إلى الأمام

بعد 20 عامًا من النجاح المؤكد ، فإن TEAK في وضع فريد لتوسيع عدد الطلاب الذين توفر لهم فرصة تحولية لحضور المدارس الثانوية والكليات المرموقة في الأمة ، وبالتالي تغيير مسار حياتهم.

 

عرض خريطة طريقنا

القيادة


84% من زملاء الفئة 15 شغلوا منصب قيادي رفيع.


القيادة

تدرك TEAK إمكانات القيادة في جميع المسجلين في زمالة TEAK. من خلال دورة القيادة ، يتم تعليم جميع الزملاء المهارات والمنظور لإحداث تغيير إيجابي مدروس وهادف في مجتمعاتهم. زملاء TEAK هم قادة في المناقشات الصفية ، على المسرح ، وفي المجالات الرياضية. يخدم ستة وثمانون في المائة من الطلاب في أدوار قيادية في مدارسهم الثانوية ، ويكسرون حواجز إضافية ويرسمون مسارات جديدة بينما يتقدمون إلى أدوار بارزة. تأثيرهم مثير للإعجاب مثل إنجازاتهم.

القيادة

يضمن المزيج الفريد من المنح الدراسية والقيادة والمواطنة والزمالة حصول خريجي TEAK على رأس المال الأكاديمي والاجتماعي لتحقيق إمكاناتهم الكاملة.


منحة دراسية

في كل عام ، من خلال عملية قبول شاملة ، تختار TEAK 30 طالبًا مشرقًا ومحفزًا للغاية من عائلات منخفضة الدخل يتوقون إلى الفرص والتحدي. من اليوم الأول ، يتبعون مناهج صارمة ومثرية يتم تدريسها من قبل معلمي المدارس العامة والخاصة ذوي الخبرة. في الفصول الدراسية بعد المدرسة ، والسبت ، والصيف ، يقوم زملاء TEAK بتطوير مهارات القراءة والكتابة والتفكير النقدي ومهارات حل المشكلات اللازمة للنجاح في أفضل المدارس المستقلة والمدارس الداخلية. يتعلمون عن أنفسهم ، وما يحبونه ، وما يمكنهم تحقيقه.

 

100% من زملاء Class 15 حصلوا على قبول في كليات تنافسية للغاية بما في ذلك 30% لمؤسسات رابطة اللبلاب.

 

94% من طلاب الكلية من الدرجة 11 تخرجوا من الكلية في 2018.

 

الجنسية

طلاب TEAK يحدثون التغيير من خلال الخدمة. في كل عام ، تكرس إحدى مجموعات TEAK صيفها بالكامل لتجربة تطوعية بدوام كامل ، وتعليم الشباب المعرضين للخطر ، وتقديم وجبات الطعام لكبار السن ، ودعم العائلات المشردة أو التي تواجه عدم استقرار السكن. وطوال فترة الزمالة ، سيكمل كل طالب 100 ساعة تطوعية إضافية - يبلغ مجموعها 3,000 ساعة لكل فصل - مخصصة لتحسين وإرجاع مدرستهم ومجتمعاتهم المحلية. هذه التجارب تغير الزملاء نحو الأفضل ، وبالتالي تعزز مجتمعاتهم. مع وجود أكبر نسبة من خريجي TEAK الذين يعملون في التعليم ، والسياسة العامة ، والمنظمات غير الربحية (34 ٪) ، فإن طلاب TEAK لديهم تأثير مباشر على مجتمعاتهم.

متطوع

استسلم أربعة وعشرون زميل TEAK ٢٤ ساعة من وقتهم إلى المنظمات المحلية غير الربحية والخدمية في مدينة نيويورك المحلية خلال برنامج Morgan McKinzie Summer of Service.


المُتابعة

تميز TEAK نفسها عن المنظمات النظيرة من خلال تفانيها في بناء العلاقات والاستثمار في تنمية كل طالب كفرد. في نفس الوقت ، يظلون جزءًا من الزمالة الأكبر - مجموعة قوية من الأقران الذين يمرون بتجربة TEAK معًا ويساعدون في دعم بعضهم البعض على طول الطريق. يتم تعزيز إحساسهم بالمودة من خلال النزهات الجماعية إلى عروض برودواي ومعارض المتاحف والعروض الثقافية الأخرى. يرتبط هؤلاء الطلاب أيضًا بشبكة واسعة النطاق تتجاوز TEAK: شركاء المدارس ، والخريجين ، والموجهون ، ومضيفو التدريب ، وأعضاء مجلس الإدارة الذين يعملون لدعم الطلاب والاستمرار في فتح الأبواب على طول رحلتهم التعليمية.

القيادة

في 25 أكتوبر ، قدم مجلس إدارة TEAK حفل الذكرى السنوية العشرين لـ TEAK: نظرة عابرة / التركيز إلى الأمام ، وجمع أكثر من 20 دولار. اجتمع أكثر من 1,400,000 من الرعاة والمتبرعين والخريجين والطلاب للاحتفال بالفخر ، جوستين ستامين أريلاغا ، مؤسس زمالة TEAK. تضمن الرئيسان المشاركان لهذا الحدث رئيس مجلس الإدارة ، مارك بيكر ورؤساء مجلس الإدارة السابقين ، وآن برينان ، وروبرت إس كابلان ، وهنري ماكفي ، وتريسي نيكسون ، بالإضافة إلى صديق TEAK منذ فترة طويلة ، جيه جيه رامبرج.

أرقام

في عام 2018 ، تلقى TEAK أكثر من $ 3.7M دعما من الجهات المانحة السخية ، مع مجموع النفقات في $ 2.9M منها 84% تم استخدامه للبرامج.

نشكركم!

عرض التقرير الكامل

Featured Background Image

2018 Annual Report

Glancing Back. Focusing Forward.

Teak’s Mission


The TEAK Fellowship believes that motivation and potential, not economic circumstances, should determine a student’s future. TEAK unlocks access to outstanding education and transformative experiences for exceptional NYC students, who use these opportunities to change their lives and the world around them.

 

IN 2018,
TEAK SERVED

189

Middle School and High School Fellows

+

111

College Scholars and recent graduates

=

300

highly motivated
students

 
 

1 out of 4 New Yorkers live at or below the poverty line.
TEAK Fellows are among them.

Glancing Back

Glancing Back Icon

On February 1st, 1998, TEAK opened its doors to motivated and exceptional NYC students

 

Students Served

Over 550 Students Served

Leadership

700+ Internships for High School and College

Volunteer

Over 40,000 Hours of Community Service

Leadership

Over 12,000 Hours of Academic Instruction

Fireworks

93% of TEAK Fellows have entered highly competitive colleges, including 30% into the Ivy League.

Focusing Forward

Focusing Forward Icon

After 20 years of proven success, TEAK is uniquely positioned to expand the number of students to whom it offers a transformational opportunity to attend the Nation’s most prestigious high schools and colleges and, subsequently, change the trajectory of their lives.

 

VIEW OUR ROADMAP

Leadership


84% of Class 15 Fellows held a senior leadership position.


Leadership

TEAK recognizes leadership potential in all who are enrolled in the TEAK Fellowship. Through the Leadership Course all Fellows are taught the skills and perspective to thoughtfully and purposely effect positive change in their communities. TEAK Fellows are leaders in class discussions, on stage, and on athletic fields. Eighty-six percent of students serve in leadership roles at their high schools, breaking additional barriers and charting new paths as they step into prominent roles. Their impact is as impressive as their accomplishments.

Leadership

The unique combination of Scholarship, Leadership, Citizenship, and Fellowship ensures that TEAK graduates have both the academic and social capital to achieve their full potential.


Scholarship

Each year, through a comprehensive admissions process TEAK selects 30 bright, highly motivated students from low-income families who are eager for opportunity and challenge. From day one, they pursue rigorous, enriching curricula taught by experienced public and private school teachers. In after-school, Saturday, and summer classes, TEAK Fellows develop the literacy, critical thinking and problem-solving skills needed to thrive in top independent day and boarding schools. They learn about themselves, what they love, and what they can achieve.

 

100% of Class 15 Fellows gained admission to highly competitive colleges including 30% to Ivy League Institutions.

 

94% of College Scholars from Class 11 graduated from college in 2018.

 

Citizenship

TEAK students effect change through service. Each year, one TEAK cohort dedicates its entire summer to a full-time volunteer experience, teaching at-risk youth, providing meals to seniors, and supporting families who are homeless or face housing instability. And, throughout the Fellowship, each student will complete 100 additional volunteer hours — totaling 3,000 hours for each class — dedicated to improving and giving back to their school and local communities. These experiences change Fellows for the better, and in turn strengthen their communities. With the largest percentage of TEAK alumni working in education, public policy, and non-profit organizations (34%), TEAK students are having a direct impact on their communities.

Volunteer

Twenty-four TEAK Fellows gave over 4,320 hours of their time to local New York City non-profit and public service organizations during the Morgan McKinzie Summer of Service Program.


Fellowship

TEAK distinguishes itself from its peer organizations through its dedication to relationship-building and investment in growing each student as an individual. At the same time, they remain part of the larger Fellowship — a strong cohort of peers going through the TEAK experience together and helping to support one another along the way. Their sense of camaraderie is strengthened through group outings to Broadway shows, museum exhibitions and other cultural offerings. These students are also connected to an extensive network beyond TEAK: schools partners, alumni, mentors, internship hosts, and board members who work to support students and continue to open doors along their educational journey.

Leadership

On October 25th, TEAK’s Board of Directors presented the TEAK 20th Anniversary Gala: Glancing Back/Focusing Forward, raising over $1,400,000. Over 500 sponsors, donors, alumni, and students came together to celebrate our honoree, Justine Stamen Arrillaga, TEAK Fellowship founder. Co-chairs for the event included Board Chair, Marc Becker and previous Board Chairs, Anne Brennan, Robert S. Kaplan, Henry McVey, and Tracy Nixon as well as longtime TEAK friend, JJ Ramberg.

The Numbers

In 2018, TEAK received over $3.7M in support from generous donors, with total expenses at $2.9M of which 84% was used for programs.

We Thank You!

View Full Report