特色背景图片

瓦丽娜·克拉克(Varina Clark)

 

 

Varina Clark,5级
中学: 波特小姐学校
本科: 布朗大学
研究生: 加州大学洛杉矶分校戴维·格芬医学院在读医学生

 

Varina Clark最近被授予竞争产品 院长的领导 加州大学洛杉矶分校戴维·格芬医学院的健康与科学奖学金。

 

你最近在忙些什么? 

我目前是UCLA的David Geffen医学院(DGSOM)的一名医学生。 追求我的理学学士学位后 我曾在布朗大学(Brown University)获得人类生物学博士学位,曾是Memorial Sloan Kettering的临床研究主管,并且还领导了健康教育计划。 布朗克斯社区卫生负责人 (BxCHL)在布朗克斯的Montefiore家庭健康中心。 在DGSOM期间,我在医学院学生会(MSC)上建立了新的职位-平等,多元化和包容性(EDI)代表-以促进与多元化相关的资源,活动和课外学习机会。 今年,我担任UCLA EDI 学生顾问委员会 并监督本科和研究生级别的计划。 

 

在完成探索性的一年 院长的领导 在健康与科学领域,我目前的研究探索了潜在的生物标志物 这将为肺动脉高压相关的右室衰竭的治疗目标奠定基础。

 

我也担任 阿尔伯特·史威哲研究员 并开发了一项名为“ eMpower:增强母亲的心理适应力”的干预措施,以改善洛杉矶黑人妇女的围产期心理健康和相关的生育结果。 

我也被引入了 金人文荣誉学会 (GHHS)于2019年XNUMX月,在那儿我以对病人的同情和奉献得到了认可。

 

TEAK最喜欢的记忆:

在上大学之前就在TEAK毕业典礼上庆祝我们的成就。 那是一个非常特殊的时刻,在我们各自前进之前,我喜欢与所有同学,我们的家人,导师和TEAK员工一起度过时光。 我仍然有那个特殊日子的照片!

 

您是如何参与医学的? 您在TEAK的时间如何为您做准备?

在HS的三年级期间,我巩固了当医生的身份,同时担任艾滋病毒儿童营地顾问的决定。 我继续在大学以及在纪念斯隆·凯特琳纪念馆(Memorial Sloan Kettering)工作期间探索医学领域(研究,阴影,会议等)。 作为研究员,TEAK培养了我通过社区服务,教育和指导服务他人的热情。 现在,作为未来的医师领导者,我将通过解决健康差异,改善健康状况以及倡导本地和国外服务水平低下的社区,为患者提供具有文化响应能力的综合医疗保健。

 

当前TEAK研究员的建议:

永远不要怀疑你的能力! 我知道“ Imposter综合征”是真实的,但我鼓励您尽力而为,在失败时寻求反馈,从错误中吸取教训,并为自己提供拔出电源和充电的优雅。 有了这些关键,您将在逆境中保持韧性。
 

研究员可以与您联系吗?

[电子邮件保护]

Featured Background Image

Varina Clark

 

 

Varina Clark, Class 5
High School: Miss Porter’s School
Undergraduate: Brown University
Graduate: Current Medical Student at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA

 

Varina Clark was recently awarded the competitive Dean’s Leadership in Health and Science Scholarship at David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA.

 

What have you been up to lately? 

I am currently a medical student at the David Geffen School of Medicine (DGSOM) at UCLA. After pursuing my Sc.B. degree in Human Biology at Brown University, I was a Clinical Research Supervisor at Memorial Sloan Kettering and also spearheaded health education initiatives with the Bronx Community Health Leaders (BxCHL) at the Montefiore Family Health Center in the Bronx. While at DGSOM, I established a new position on the Medical Student Council (MSC)—Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Representatives—to promote diversity-related resources, events, and co-curricular learning opportunities. This year, I serve as the UCLA EDI Student Advisory Board and oversee initiatives on both undergraduate and graduate levels. 

 

While completing an exploratory year as a Dean’s Leadership in Health and Science fellow, my current research explores potential biomarkers that will help to lay the foundation for therapeutic targets for pulmonary hypertension-associated right ventricular failure.

 

I also serve as an Albert Schweitzer Fellow and developed an intervention called “eMpower: Strengthening Mothers’ Mental Resilience” to improve perinatal mental health and related birth outcomes amongst Black women in Los Angeles. 

I was also inducted into the Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) in July 2019, where I was recognized for compassion and commitment to patient care.

 

Favorite Memory at TEAK:

Celebrating our accomplishments at TEAK Graduation right before college. It was such a special occasion, and I enjoyed spending time with all of my classmates, our family, mentors and the TEAK staff before we all moved forward with our respective careers. I still have the photos from that special day!

 

How did you become involved with medicine? How did your time at TEAK prepare you?

During my junior year of HS, I solidified my decision to become a physician while serving as a camp counselor for children with HIV.  I continued to explore the medical field (research, shadowing, conferences, etc.) in college and while working at Memorial Sloan Kettering. As a Fellow, TEAK nurtured my passion to serve others through community service, education, and mentorship. Now, as a future physician-leader, I will provide culturally responsive, comprehensive healthcare to patients by addressing health disparities, improving health outcomes, and advocating for underserved communities locally and abroad.

 

Advice for current TEAK Fellows:

Never doubt your abilities! I know “Imposter Syndrome” is real, but I encourage you to try your best, ask for feedback when you fail, learn from your mistakes, and give yourself grace to unplug and recharge.  With these keys, you will be resilient in the face of adversity.
 

Is it alright for Fellows to contact you?

[email protected]

books-top.comblog.aidol.asia youngteens.net a-coon.com