صورة خلفية مميزة

إيغور ديكي

 

 

إيغور ديكي ، دكتوراه ، الفئة 2
المدرسة الثانوية: مدرسة جماعية
المرحلة الجامعية: جامعة برينستون
خريج: كلية ويل كورنيل العليا للعلوم الطبية

 

تم اختيار إيغور ديكي ، دكتوراه ، الفئة 2 مؤخرًا كمرشح نهائي لجائزة جوائز Blavatnik الإقليمية للعلماء الشباب في الكيمياء لعمله خلال فترة ما بعد الدكتوراه في CUNY.

 

ماذا كنت تفعل مؤخرا؟ 

خلال سنتي الجامعية الأولى ، قمت بمشروع بحث أطروحة التخرج الذي جعلني مهتمًا حقًا بالكيمياء الحيوية - كيف تتحكم الخصائص الكيميائية المختلفة والتفاعلات في العمليات البيولوجية. كنت أحاول صنع نسخة اصطناعية من ببتيد اللاسو المضاد للميكروبات - جزيء بروتين صغير تصنعه بعض البكتيريا لقتل البكتيريا الأخرى. على الرغم من أنني لم أنجح في صنع نسخة نشطة من الببتيد ، إلا أنني كنت مدمنًا حقًا على الكيمياء الحيوية وقررت أن أحصل على درجة الدكتوراه في هذا المجال من جامعة وايل كورنيل (لم يضر ذلك أيضًا أنه كان في مدينة نيويورك). بالنسبة لدرجة الدكتوراه ، عملت على بروتين في الدماغ متورط في مرض باركنسون ، يُعرف باسم alpha-synuclein. أحد الأشياء الغريبة حول هذا البروتين هو أنه لا يحتوي على بنية مستقرة مثل معظم البروتينات ، لذلك كنت أحاول معرفة ما إذا كان هذا له علاقة بوظيفته الطبيعية أو الخطأ الذي يحدث في المرض. بعد حصولي على درجة الدكتوراه ، قررت إجراء بحث ما بعد الدكتوراه في مركز أبحاث العلوم المتقدمة الجديد بجامعة مدينة نيويورك. يسمح لي كوني باحث ما بعد الدكتوراة باكتساب القليل من الاستقلال العلمي مع الاستمرار في العمل مع عالم مرموق كموجه. إنه نوع من التدريب العلمي على طريق الحصول على معمل خاص بك. أنا الآن أعمل على أنواع مختلفة من بروتينات المستقبلات - فهي تستشعر محفزات مختلفة في البيئة وتخبر الخلية كيف تستجيب - في البكتيريا والبشر. هدفي على المدى الطويل هو بدء مختبري الخاص الذي يدرس كيف تستشعر البكتيريا البيئة وتستجيب لها وكيف يتم تمرير هذه الإشارة إلى الخلية على المستوى الجزيئي.

الذاكرة المفضلة في TEAK:

أتذكر ركوبي إلى المعهد الصيفي مع كريس جوجوس وتيفاني وانج ، "لعبة أم" في المعهد الصيفي ، حيث كنت سيئًا جدًا في STEP مع كارل وأعزف الطبول مع جاك ، وأعمل في Hayden Planetarium مع Manny Schwimmer ، Culture at TEAK يوم السبت ، وحصلت على أول ربطات عنق من TEAK Closet. أتذكر أيضًا زيارة حرم جامعة برينستون مع صفي بأكمله ، بما في ذلك معلمي TEAK دانيال فاين وميليسا وو. أعتقد أن CATS هي ذاكرتي المفضلة ، لكنها كلها رائعة.

نصيحة لزملاء TEAK الحاليين:

حاول العثور على مرشدين في كل مرحلة من مراحل حياتك أو مهنتك - هناك العديد من الأشخاص المستعدين والمتحمسين لمساعدة أولئك الذين يقفون وراءهم في مشاكل واجهوها أيضًا ، لذا حاول العثور على هؤلاء الأشخاص والاستفادة من تجاربهم.

هل يجوز للزملاء الاتصال بك؟

أحب التحدث عن البحث العلمي أو الأهداف المهنية أو أي شيء آخر. LinkedIn الخاص بي هو: https://www.linkedin.com/in/igor-dikiy-phd/  أو البريد الإلكتروني لي في [البريد الإلكتروني محمي]

Featured Background Image

Igor Dikiy

 

 

Igor Dikiy, PhD, Class 2
High School: Collegiate School
Undergraduate: Princeton University
Graduate: Weill Cornell Graduate School of Medical Sciences

 

Igor Dikiy, PhD, Class 2  was recently selected as a finalist for the Blavatnik Regional Awards for Young Scientists in Chemistry for his work during his postdoc at CUNY.

 

What have you been up to lately? 

During my senior year of undergrad, I did a senior thesis research project that got me really interested in biochemistry – how different chemical properties and reactions control biological processes.  I was trying to make a synthetic version of an antimicrobial lasso peptide – a small protein molecule that some bacteria make to kill other bacteria. Even though I didn’t succeed in making an active version of the peptide, I was really hooked on biochemistry and decided to go get my PhD in that field at Weill Cornell (it also didn’t hurt that it was in NYC).  For my PhD I worked on a protein in the brain that’s involved in Parkinson’s disease, known as alpha-synuclein. One of the weird things about this protein is that it has no stable structure like most proteins, so I was trying to figure out whether that has anything to do with what its normal function is or what goes wrong in the disease. After I got my PhD, I decided to do postdoctoral research at the new CUNY Advanced Science Research Center.  Being a postdoc allows me to gain a little bit of scientific independence while still working with an established scientist as a mentor. It’s kind of like a scientific internship on the path to getting your own lab. Right now I am working on different kinds of receptor proteins – they sense different stimuli in the environment and tell the cell how to respond – in bacteria and humans. My long-term goal is to start my own lab that studies how bacteria sense and respond to the environment and how that signal is passed into the cell on the molecular scale.

Favorite Memory at TEAK:

I remember riding to the Summer Institute with Chris Gogos and Tiffany Wang, the “Um game” in Summer Institute, being very bad at STEP with Carl and drumming with Jacques, working at the Hayden Planetarium with Manny Schwimmer, Culture at TEAK on Saturdays, and getting my first few ties from the TEAK Closet.  I also remember visiting the Princeton Campus with my whole class, including my TEAK Mentor Daniel Fine, and Melissa Wu. I think CATS is my favorite memory, but they’re all great.

Advice for current TEAK Fellows:

Try to find mentors at every stage of your life or career – there are many people who are willing and eager to help those coming up behind them with problems that they also faced, so try to find those people and take advantage of their experiences.

Is it alright for Fellows to contact you?

I’d love to chat about scientific research, career goals, or whatever.  My LinkedIn is: https://www.linkedin.com/in/igor-dikiy-phd/  or email me at [email protected]

books-top.comblog.aidol.asia youngteens.net a-coon.com